Congratulations UGSA Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awardees

Kristen Bennett - doctoral candidate; Mike Hyman, Adviser (PMB)

Jennifer Greenstein - doctoral candidate; Paul Hamilton, Adviser (PMB)


Congratulations 2015 MGP graduates

Amy Ann Devlin - MB PHD; Scott Laster, Adviser (Biol Sci)

Dissertation title: Murine Host Response to Spirochetes and Their Ligands

Stephanie Lambeth Mathews - MB PHD; Amy Grunden, Adviser (PMB)

Dissertation title: Biodegradation and Bioconversion of Lignocellulosic Waste Streams by Paenibacillus glucanolyticus

Jennifer Lynn Stone - MB PHD; Michael Sikes, Adviser (Biol Sci)

Dissertation title: Feedback Control of Tcrb Gene Recombination

Jason Michael Whitham - MB PHD; Amy Grunden, Adviser (PMB)

Dissertation title: Identifying Genetic Targets and Growth Conditions for Higher Ethanol Production by the Synthesis Gas Fermenting Bacterium Clostridium ljungdahlii

Eleven 2015 MMB graduates- MB MMB; Paul Hamilton, Adviser (PMB)

Shannon Reisdorf - MB MR; Eric Miller, Adviser (PMB); Non-thesis


Welcome New MGP Training Faculty

Carlos Goller

Molecular mechanisms for formation of biofilms and the persistence of bacterial communities in common (often household) environments, using metagenomics and high throughput sequencing.

Eduardo Gutierrez-Rodriguez

Microbial Ecology of Human Pathogen in Ag-environments.

Mari Chinn
Production of bio-based products, such as enzymes, biochemicals, and biofuels from agro-industrial residues and dedicated biomass crops.

Ilenys Muniz Perez-Diaz

Development of microbiology-based technologies for the improvement of the quality, safety, and value of the commercially available vegetable products.


Johanna Elfenbein
Pathogenesis of the zoonotic pathogen Salmonella enterica and how this bacterium grows inside the intestine to colonize susceptible hosts.

Megan Jacob
Detection and diagnostics of antibiotic resistance and the epidemiology and ecology of Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli

Cristina Lanzas
Ecology and epidemiology of infectious diseases with focus on enteric and antimicrobial resistant pathogens.

Casey Theriot
Identifying the role of the gastrointestinal tract microbiome and metabolome in shaping colonization resistance against Clostridium difficile.

UNC [advisory committee participation]

M. Andrea Azcarate-Peril

Molecular mechanisms involved in modulation of microbial populations and their environment by probiotics and prebiotics, and identification of molecular associations between components of the microbiome and specific gut cells or systems.


New Microbiomes and Complex Microbial Communities faculty cluster

Congratulations and many thanks to Chase Beisel (COE CBE) and Mike Hyman (CALS PMB) for spearheading a winning cluster proposal that will fund four new faculty positions in this area across campus.  The hard work has begun and the search committee is moving forward with evaluating applications.  We can anticipate that the MGP and other graduate programs on campus will benefit from graduate student participation in training opportunities provided by these new faculty.



Microbiology Graduate Program faculty Mike Hyman & Chase Beisel ("Microbiomes and Complex Microbial Communities"), Sid Thakur ("Targeted Drug Discovery and Development: The Battle against Multidrug Resistant Bacterial Pathogens"; and "The Exposome One Health Initiative"; co-lead on two proposals) and Francis de los Reyes ("Global WaSH [Water, Sanitation, and Hygiene])" advanced to the "final 13" of the current round of the Chancellor's Faculty Excellence Program, or "cluster hires".  Congratulations to them for these strong efforts, and all the best for a positive outcome!  Microbiology faculty and our graduate students would have an opportunity to contribute to many of these cluster areas.

Brant Johnson (Microbiology Ph.D. candidate; Todd Klaenhammer lab; FBNS) and Stephanie Mathews (Microbiology Ph.D. candidate; Amy Grunden lab; PMB) won first place in the Life Sciences and the Agriculture Sciences & Natural Resources catgories, respectively, for their posters presented at the 2015 Graduate Research Symposium.  Congratulations to these outstanding graduate student researchers!

Jennifer Stone (Microbiology Ph.D. candidate; M. Sikes Lab, Department of Biological Sciences), Mani Kotipalli and Nicholas Taylor (both Masters of Microbial Biotechnology) won NC State UGSA 2015 "Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards.  Congratulations to these outstanding teaching assistants!

Susan Gardner (Microbiology PhD candidate; Department of Biological Sciences J. Olson laboratory) won the NC State UGSA 2014 "Award for Mentorship and Dedication to Teaching", one of two top awards for campus graduate student teaching.  It comes with a $500 monetary prize as well!

Dr. Amy Grunden was named a Univeristy Faculty Scholar by the NCSU Provost.  She was among 24 faculty members named to the inaugural 2012 - 2013 class.  The complete announcement can be viewed here.