NCSU CALS Microbiology -People

Directory of People

Faculty

Investigators from across NC State University colleges and departments participate in the Microbiology Graduate Programs.  Students find mentoring and research opportunities with many of the faculty listed below.  Please feel free to contact them before applying or after acceptance into the program by the Graduate School.  Only brief titles of their research areas are provided here, with in depth information available at the individual web sites.

Dr. Rodolphe Barrangou
CRISPR-Cas immune systems biology
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Sciences

rbarran@ncsu.edu

Dr. Chase Beisel
RNA synthetic biology
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

cbeisel@ncsu.edu


Dr. Fred Breidt
Microbial ecology of food products
Department of Food, Bioprocessing and Nutrition Science

breidt@ncsu.edu


Dr. Dennis Brown
Sindbis virus structure
Department of Molecular & Structural Biochemistry

dennis_brown@ncsu.edu


Dr. James Brown

RNA biology; microbial evolution
Department of Biological Sciences

james_brown@ncsu.edu


Dr. Jose Bruno-Barcena
Lactic acid bacteria; physiology, genetics and bioprocessing 
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

jose_bruno-barcena@ncsu.edu


Dr. Marc A. Cubeta
Fungal disease ecology, genetics and population biology
Department of Plant Pathology
marc_cubeta@ncsu.edu


Dr. Francis de los Reyes
Microbial ecology & Environmental engineering
Department of Civil, Construction & Environmentall Engineering

fldelosr@eos.ncsu.edu

Dr. Robert Dunn
Ecology and Evolution
Department of Biological Sciences
rrdunn@ncsu.edu


Dr. Michael C. Flickinger
Advanced cellular biocomposite materials, microbial C1 metabolism
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

michael_flickinger@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jonathan E. Fogle
Immunology, immunodeficiency and flow cytometry
Department of Population Health and Pathobiology

jefogle@ncsu.edu

Dr. Frederick J. Fuller
Molecular animal virology
College of Veterinary Medicine

fred_fuller@ncsu.edu

Dr. Reza A. Ghiladi
Light-activated antimicrobial materials
Department of Chemistry
reza_ghiladi@ncsu.edu

Dr. Amy Grunden
Biotechnological applications of extremophiles
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

amy_grunden@ncsu.edu

Dr. Paul Hamilton 
Director of MMB Program; phage lysins; peptide aptamers
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

paul_hamilton@ncsu.edu

Dr. Hosni Hassan
Oxidative stress; Salmonella vaccine systems
Prestage Department of Poultry Science

hosni_hassan@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael Hyman
Bioremediation; microbial co-metabolism
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

michael_hyman@ncsu.edu

Dr. Shuijin Hu
Microbial mediated plant and ecosystem responses to global change
Department of Plant Pathology

shuijin_hu@ncsu.edu

 

Dr. Lee-Ann Jaykus
Food safety
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science

leeann_jaykus@ncsu.edu

Dr. Sophia Kathariou
Bacterial foodborne pathogens
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science

skathar@unity.ncsu.edu

Dr. Robert M. Kelly
Thermophilic enzymes
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

rmkelly@eos.ncsu.edu

Dr. Todd Klaenhammer
Molecular biology of lactic acid Bacteria
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science

klaenhammer@ncsu.edu

Dr. Scott Laster
Cellular immunology
Department of Biological Sciences

scott_laster@ncsu.edu


Dr. Hsiao-Ching Liu
Department of Animal Science
hc_liu@ncsu.edu
 
Dr. John Mackenzie

Coordinator, Center for Electron Microscopy; digital imaging
Department of Molecular & Structural Biochemistry

john_mackenzie@ncsu.edu


Christian Melander
Novel anti-infective, anti-biofilm strategies
Department of Chemistry

ccmeland@ncsu.edu

Dr. Eric S. Miller
Bacteriophage genomics; Microbial genetics; Biotechnology
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

eric_miller@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jennifer Miller 
Spirochete-host interactions
Department of Biological Sciences

jen_miller@ncsu.edu 

Dr. Jonathan Olson
Microbial physiology/pathogenesis; Campylobacter
Department of Biological Sciences

jonathan_olson@ncsu.edu


Dr. Paul E. Orndorff
Genetics of virulence in bacteria
College of Veterinary Medicine

paul_orndorff@ncsu.edu

Dr. Tim Petty
Virology
Department of Biological Sciences
tim_petty@ncsu.edu

Dr. Frank Scholle
Viral pathogenesis; West Nile virus
Department of Biological Sciences

frank_scholle@ncsu.edu


Dr. Barbara Sherry
Viral myocarditis and innate immunity
College of Veterinary Medicine

barbara_sherry@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael Sikes
Developmental immunology
Department of Biological Sciences

mike_sikes@ncsu.edu


Dr. Siddhartha Thakur
Antibiotic resistance in the environment
Department of Population Health & Pathobiology

sthakur@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jeffrey A. Yoder
Innate immunity; immunogenetics; zebrafish immunology
Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences

jeff_yoder@ncsu.edu


Emeritus Professors

Dr. Paul Bishop
Alternative nitrogen fixation

paul_bishop@ncsu.edu

Dr. Walter Dobrogosz
Gastrointestinal microbiology
walter_dobrogosz@ncsu.edu

Dr. Gerald Elkan
Symbiotic nitrogen fization
gerald_elkan@ncsu.edu

Dr. Gerry Luginbuhl
Bordetella avium
gerry_luginbuhl@ncsu.edu

Dr. Leo W. Parks
Yeast physiology; ergosterol

 

If you need to report a technical problem with this site, please email cals_webapp@ncsu.edu
Please include the url of this page and other details regarding the problem
Help desk hours: M-F, 8 am - 5 pm EST
 
Contact Us Privacy University Policies