Directory of People

 

Faculty

Investigators from across NC State University colleges and departments participate in the Microbiology Graduate Programs.  Students find mentoring and research opportunities with many of the faculty listed below.  Please feel free to contact them before applying or after acceptance into the program by the Graduate School.  Only brief titles of their research areas are provided here, with in depth information available at the individual web sites.

Dr. Rodolphe Barrangou
CRISPR-Cas immune systems biology
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences

rbarran@ncsu.edu

Dr. Chase Beisel
RNA synthetic biology
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

cbeisel@ncsu.edu


Dr. Fred Breidt
Microbial ecology of food products
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Science
s
breidt@ncsu.edu


Dr. Dennis Brown
Sindbis virus structure
Department of Molecular & Structural Biochemistry

dennis_brown@ncsu.edu


Dr. James Brown

RNA biology; microbial evolution
Department of Biological Sciences

james_brown@ncsu.edu


Dr. Jose Bruno-Barcena
Lactic acid bacteria; physiology, genetics & bioprocessing 
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

jose_bruno-barcena@ncsu.edu


Dr. Mari Chinn
Biofuels; microbial and enzymatic bioprocessing
Department of Biological & Agricultural Engineering
mari_chinn@ncsu.edu

Dr. Marc A. Cubeta
Fungal disease ecology, genetics & population biology
Department of Plant Pathology
marc_cubeta@ncsu.edu


Dr. Francis de los Reyes
Microbial ecology & Environmental engineering
Department of Civil, Construction & Environmentall Engineering

fldelosr@eos.ncsu.edu

Dr. Robert Dunn
Ecology and Evolution
Department of Biological Sciences
rrdunn@ncsu.edu

Dr. Johanna Elfenbein
Salmonella enterica; genetics, colonization and disease
Department of Clinical Sciences

jrelfenb@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael C. Flickinger
Cellular biocomposite materials, microbial C1 metabolism
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

michael_flickinger@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jonathan E. Fogle
Immunology, immunodeficiency and flow cytometry
Department of Population Health & Pathobiology

jefogle@ncsu.edu

Dr. Frederick J. Fuller
Molecular animal virology
College of Veterinary Medicine

fred_fuller@ncsu.edu

Dr. Reza A. Ghiladi
Light-activated antimicrobial materials
Department of Chemistry
reza_ghiladi@ncsu.edu

Dr. Carlos Goller
Metagenomics of bacterial communities; biofilms; anti-infectives
Biotechnology Program

ccgoller@ncsu.edu

Dr. Amy Grunden
Biotechnological applications of extremophiles
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

amy_grunden@ncsu.edu

Dr. Eduardo Gutierrez-Rodriguez
Microbes in ag, food and water environments
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences

egutier2@ncsu.edu

Dr. Paul Hamilton 
Director of MMB Program; phage lysins; peptide aptamers
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

paul_hamilton@ncsu.edu

Dr. Hosni Hassan
Oxidative stress; Salmonella vaccine systems
Prestage Department of Poultry Science

hosni_hassan@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael Hyman
Bioremediation; microbial co-metabolism
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

michael_hyman@ncsu.edu


 

 

Dr. Shuijin Hu
Microbial mediated plant and ecosystem responses to global change
Department of Plant Pathology

shuijin_hu@ncsu.edu

Dr. Megan Jacob
Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli; detection and epidimiology
Department of Population Health & Pathobiology
megan_jacob@ncsu.edu

Dr. Lee-Ann Jaykus
Food safety
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences

leeann_jaykus@ncsu.edu

Dr. Sophia Kathariou
Bacterial foodborne pathogens
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences

skathar@unity.ncsu.edu

Dr. Robert M. Kelly
Thermophilic enzymes
Department of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering

rmkelly@eos.ncsu.edu

Dr. Todd Klaenhammer
Molecular biology of lactic acid Bacteria
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences

klaenhammer@ncsu.edu

Dr. Cristina Lanzas
Epidemiology of infectious diseases; enteric and antimicrobial resistant pathogens
Department of Population Health & Pathobiology
clanzas@ncsu.edu

Dr. Scott Laster
Cellular immunology
Department of Biological Sciences

scott_laster@ncsu.edu

Dr. Hsiao-Ching Liu
Department of Animal Science
hc_liu@ncsu.edu
 
Dr. John Mackenzie

Coordinator, Center for Electron Microscopy; digital imaging
Department of Molecular & Structural Biochemistry

john_mackenzie@ncsu.edu


Dr. Christian Melander
Novel anti-infective, anti-biofilm strategies
Department of Chemistry

ccmeland@ncsu.edu

Dr. Eric S. Miller
Bacteriophage genomics; microbial genetics; biotechnology
Department of Plant & Microbial Biology

eric_miller@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jonathan Olson
Microbial physiology/pathogenesis; Campylobacter
Department of Biological Sciences

jonathan_olson@ncsu.edu


Dr. Paul E. Orndorff
Genetics of virulence in bacteria
College of Veterinary Medicine

paul_orndorff@ncsu.edu

Dr. Ilenys M. Perez-Diaz
Microbiology for quality, safety, and value of vegetable products
Department of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences
idiazmu@ncsu.edu

Dr. Tim Petty
Virology
Department of Biological Sciences
tim_petty@ncsu.edu

Dr. Frank Scholle
Viral pathogenesis; West Nile virus
Department of Biological Sciences

frank_scholle@ncsu.edu


Dr. Barbara Sherry
Viral myocarditis and innate immunity
College of Veterinary Medicine

barbara_sherry@ncsu.edu

Dr. Michael Sikes
Developmental immunology
Department of Biological Sciences

mike_sikes@ncsu.edu


Dr. Siddhartha Thakur
Antibiotic resistance in the environment
Department of Population Health & Pathobiology

sthakur@ncsu.edu

Dr. Casey Theriot
Clostridium difficile physiology, pathogenesis; microbiome interactions
Department of Population Health & Pathobiology

cmtherio@ncsu.edu

Dr. Jeffrey A. Yoder
Innate immunity; immunogenetics; zebrafish immunology
Department of Molecular Biomedical Sciences

jeff_yoder@ncsu.edu


 

Emeritus Professors

Dr. Paul Bishop
Alternative nitrogen fixation

paul_bishop@ncsu.edu

Dr. Walter Dobrogosz
Gastrointestinal microbiology
walter_dobrogosz@ncsu.edu

Dr. Gerald Elkan
Symbiotic nitrogen fization
gerald_elkan@ncsu.edu

Dr. Gerry Luginbuhl
Bordetella avium
gerry_luginbuhl@ncsu.edu

Dr. Leo W. Parks
Yeast physiology; ergosterol